Biswa Bandhu Sen, Gopal Ray submitted nomination for assembly speaker

The ruling BJP party’s nominated candidate for the post of the speaker of the Tripura State Legislative Assembly – Biswa Bandhu Sen on Thursday filed his nomination paper with the secretary of the assembly Bishnu Pada Karmakar.

Meanwhile, on the last day of the submission of the nomination paper, the Congress MLA Gopal Chandra Ray with the joint support of the CPI(M) and the TIPRA Motha on behalf of the opposition parties on Thursday submitted his nomination for the post of the speaker of the assembly.

Submitting his nomination paper the nominated candidate of the BSJ – Biswa Bandhu Sen expressed his confidence of winning the election and sit as a speaker in the assembly.

The assembly will run with 59 MLAs out of which 31 MLAs are from the BJP party with another 1 MLA from the BJP’s alliance partner IPFT party, while rest 13 MLAs from TIPRA Motha party, 11 from the CPI(M) and another 3 MLAs from the Congress party.

The election to the assembly speaker will be held on March 24 next and the last day of filing and withdrawal of nomination will be held on March 23. Presently BJP MLA Binay Bhushan Das is acting as the pro-tem speaker of the assembly.

Most Recent