259 candidates are in fray for Tripura assembly poll

As the state of Tripura gets ready for the assembly election slated to be held on February 16 next, a total of 28,13,478 voters are all set to decide the fate of a total 259 candidates of different political parties.

Of the total 310 nomination papers submitted,19 nomination papers were rejected, said Chief Electoral Officer Kiren Gitte on Thursday evening.

Addressing a press conference, the CEO said, “We have rejected 19 nomination papers as they had no proposal papers of 10 people, they didn’t deposit security money and other issues. 291 candidates were left and today 32 candidates withdrew their nomination. After all the procedure 259 candidates are now in fray to contest the election.”

The final list of candidates comprises of 28 candidates from Trinamool Congress (TMC), 55 from BJP, 1 from CPI, 43 from CPI-M, 13 from Congress, 6 from IPFT, 42 of TIPRA Motha, one each of TSP, RSP, CPI-ML and AIFB, 2 of TPP, 7 of other unrecognized party while 58 are independent.

He further informed that 13 from CPI-M, 3 from Congress, 3 from TIPRA Motha and rest from independent party had withdrawn their candidature.

Number of polling stations in Tripura increased from 3328 to 3337, he said, adding that the election commission is providing security to the candidates based on threat perception.

He further informed that so far 185 licensed arms were deposited soon after the Model Code of Conduct came into force in Tripura.

Most Recent