PM Modi to name 21 islands of Andaman & Nicobar after Param Vir Chakra awardees tomorrow

On Parakram Diwas, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will participate in a ceremony to name the 21 largest unnamed islands of Andaman and Nicobar Islands after 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees tomorrow at 11 AM through video conferencing.

The Government had declared the 23rd of January as Parakram Diwas to celebrate the birthday of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. The largest unnamed island will be named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, the second largest island after the second Param Vir Chakra awardee, and so on.

These islands have been named after the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees including Major Somnath Sharma, Nayak Jadunath Singh, Company Havildar Major Piru Singh, Lance Naik Albert Ekka, Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran, Captain Vikram Batra and Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey.

This step will be an everlasting tribute to the country's heroes, who made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the sovereignty and integrity of the nation.

During the programme, Mr Modi will also unveil the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep.

Keeping in mind the historical significance of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and to honour the memory of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Ross Islands was renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep by Mr. Modi in 2018. Neil Island and Havelock Island were also renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep.

Most Recent