PM Modi to attend swearing in ceremony of Meghalaya & Nagaland Chief Ministers on Tuesday

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend swearing-in ceremony of Meghalaya and Nagaland Chief Ministers on Tuesday.

The swearing-in ceremony of New Meghalaya government will be held at 11 am on Tuesday in Shillong, while that of Nagaland government at 1:45 pm in Kohima the same day. Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party( NDPP) Leader Neiphiu Rio and Assam Chief Minister and NEDA Convenor, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma will meet the BJP central leaders in New Delhi today, ahead of the formation of new government in Nagaland.

Dr. Sarma and Rio is expected to reach Delhi by today.  Mr. Rio is likely to stake claim to form the next government on Monday.  Mr. Rio is the chief-ministerial candidate for the NDPP-BJP alliance.

NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio led his party along with the alliance partner BJP to a thumping victory in the recently concluded Assembly elections, winning 37 of the 60 seats, NDPP with 25 seats and BJP 12.  He tendered his resignation as Chief Minister of Nagaland on Saturday to Governor La. Ganesan.

National People’s Party (NPP) Chief Conrad Sangma has reiterated that he has letters of support from 32 MLAs and claimed to have received an invitation from the State Governor to form the next government.

Mr Sangma said that he has support of 32 MLAs, which is one more than the required number to form the government. He said the swearing-in ceremony will be held on Tuesday at 11 AM.

He made this clear after two days of drama, with separate political formations claiming they had the numbers to form the government. Mr Sangma submitted to the Governor a letter of support with signatures of 32 MLAs, including NPP, BJP, the two legislators from HSPDP and two independents.

Most Recent