2 NLFT insurgents surrender in Tripura’s Dhalai district

Two members of the outlawed National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) of Bishwamohan group surrendered at the R C Nath Border Outpost of the BSF in Dhalai district Saturday.

The BSF in its press communique on Saturday stated, “In the wee hours of the day, Prahar Jay Tripura and Debajay Tripura, both residents of Thalcherra village in Chawmanu of Dhalai district, decided to leave the path of violence and surrendered to adopt normal life.”

BSF officials informed that both the insurgents joined the NLFT (BM) faction in October last year.

“Tripura has been insurgency-prone for the last few decades. Due to the endeavor of central agencies and state authorities several cadres of NLFT (BM) opted to return to the mainstream. Such examples will certainly motivate the misguided youths to leave the path of violence,” the BSF statement added.

Most Recent