Sushanta thanks PM Modi over Agartala-Mumbai rail service

With the introduction of Agartala-Mumbai rail service, the connectivity in the Northeastern states of Tripura will be further boosted, said transport minister Sushanta Chowdhury on Saturday.

Addressing a press conference here in the conference hall of the civil secretariat, the minister thanked the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Union Minister for Railways Ashwini Vaishnab for introducing the rail service between Agartala and Mumbai.

The Lokmanya-Kamakhya weekly express train will start rolling before Durga puha between Agartala and Mumbai, he said, adding that this express train will depart from Agartala every Thursday at 6 AM and reach Lokmanya Tilak Station in Mumbai at 4:15 PM on Saturday. This express train will again depart from Mumbai at 7:50 am on Sunday and reach Agartala at 7:50 pm on Tuesday, he added.

The Transport Minister said that the express train will halt at a total of 7 stations between Agartala and Guwahati on this route, including Ambasa, Dharmanagar, Badarpur, New Haflong, Lumding, Hojai and Chaparmukh.

With the introduction of this weekly express train between Agartala and Mumbai, people of the state involving the job seekers, patients, students, tourists, businessmen etc will be benefited at large.

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi has given importance to strengthening the communication system across the country. After 2018, the Prime Minister announced to give diamond model to the state. It is on this diamond model that the communication system of the state has improved tremendously,” he told reporters.

He said, “As a result of the development of the state's communication system, 11 express trains from the state are currently plying between different states of the country. Presently, five local trains are being operational in the state.”

“Iinitiatives have been taken to revamp 508 railway stations in different states of the country under Amrit Bharat Station Project. 11 railway stations in North Eastern region are covered under this scheme and 3 railway stations in the state are also covered under the Amrit Bharat Station scheme, which includes Dharmanagar, Kumarghat and Udaipur railway stations,” he added. 

Most Recent