2 TIPRA Motha MLAs sworn in as ministers of Tripura government

Four days after signing a pact with the Union Ministry of Home Affairs and Tripura government and ahead of the ensuing Lok Sabha election, at least 2 MLAs of the opposition TIPRA Moth party on Thursday joined the BJP-IPFT coalition government.

The Leader of Opposition and MLA Animesh Debbarma and Brishaketu Debbarma sworn in as ministers in the BJP-led government. Governor Indrasena Reddy Nallu administered the oath of office for the 2 MLAs here at Agartala Raj Bhavan on Thursday morning.

Before his swearing-in, Animesh Debbarma earlier this morning resigned from the post of leader of the opposition and handed over his resignation letter to Speaker Biswabandhu Sen.

Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha accompanied by his cabinet colleagues, founder of the TIPRA Motha party Pradyot Kishore Deb Burman, BJP state president Rajib Bhattacharjee and others were present in the oath taking ceremony.

TIPRA Motha is the second regional party after the IPFT and third one to have formed an alliance with the BJP.

Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha said, “I strongly believe that inclusion in Tipra Mathar government will play an important role in building Ek Tripura Srestha Tripura.”

“I thank Hon'ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi ji and Hon'ble Home Minister Shri Amit Shah ji for taking this historic step towards overall development of the state,” he said.



Most Recent