Dr. Manik Saha to continue as Chief Minister of Tripura; elected as leader of legislative party

Dr. Manik Saha, who replaced the former Chief Minister of the BJP-IPFT government in Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb in a surprise move last year, will sworn in as the Chief Minister of the second term of the BJP-IPFT government on March 8.

BJP won 32 seats while its junior partner IPFT swept one out of five seats in the recently concluded assembly election.

Dr. Saha is elected as the leader of the legislative party on Monday evening while his name was decided upon for the second term at a meeting of the newly-elected members of the ruling BJP in the state.

The swearing-in-ceremony of the Chief Minister and the new council of ministers would be held on Wednesday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda are expected to attend the event.

Manik Saha’s name was decided upon for Chief Minister amid chatter that Union minister Pratima Bhoumik, who had won the Dhanpur Assembly seat, was being considered for the chief minister’s post.

Most Recent