Biswabandhu Sen elected as speaker of Tripura Legislative Assembly

The ruling BJP MLA Biswabandhu Sen, Friday elected as the speaker of the Tripura State Legislative Assembly with 32 votes in the 60-member house as Tipra Motha Party, the main opposition, abstained from voting.

The former deputy speaker Biswabandhu Sen defeated Congress MLA Gopal Chandra Roy, who got only 14 votes of the total 27 opposition MLAs.

Meanwhile, as the first session of the assembly of newly elected MLAs began from Friday, the TIPRA Motha MLAs under the leadership of MLA Animesh Debbarma walked out of the House on the pretext of protest against not providing proper sitting arrangements to its 13 MLAs.

The TIPRA Motha emerged as the second biggest party by winning 13 seats in its maiden Assembly elections on February 16, while the Opposition CPI(M) and Congress, which contested the elections in a seat-sharing arrangement for the first time in Tripura, won only 11 and three seats, respectively.

Most Recent