assembly elections to be held in Manipur tomorrow

In Manipur, second and final phase of assembly elections will be held tomorrow. 22 assembly seats spread over 10 districts will go to polls in this phase. 92 candidates including 2 women are in the fray. Campaigning for this phase ended yesterday evening. In the second phase polls in Manipur, polling will be held at 1247 polling stations spread across three valley and seven hill districts.

Among the hill districts, four districts have an international border with Myanmar and Senapati and Jiribam share borders with two neighbouring States. Therefore, tight security measures have been placed for the second phase polls in Manipur. Polling officials and security personnel detailed for interior areas have already left district headquarters along with EVM and VVPAT machines. The dispersion of polling officials will be completed by this evening.

 On the polling day, webcasting will be done where internet facilities are available and videography will be done in shadow areas. Model polling stations and Pink polling stations will be there in every assembly constituency. Voter Assistance Booth will be set up and all the polling stations will be senitize before the polling considering the COVID-19 pandemic.

Most Recent