Ashish Kumar Saha to contest from West Tripura constituency in LS Poll

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Friday nominated the congress president in Tripura Ashish Kumar Saha as the party candidate to contest from West Tripura Lok Sabha seat.

The AICC released its first lists of candidates for a total of 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in the states of Tripura, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Telangana, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Nagaland and Sikkim.

Asish Kumar Saha won the assembly elections in 2018 from Bordowali assembly seat on a BJP ticket and later resigned from the post as well as party to join the Congress.

He later contested the by-elections and 2023 assembly elections against Tripura chief minister Dr Manik Saha from the same Bardowali seat but lost.

The former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb is nominated as the BJP candidate to contest from the West Tripura constituency, while the CPI-M is yet to release the lists of candidates for the seat.

Most Recent