All preparations in place for counting of votes for Nagaland, Meghalaya & Tripura

In Nagaland, preparations are being made to do error-free counting of votes tomorrow, March 2. Counting will start at 8 am tomorrow.

First of all postal ballot papers will be counted and EVMs will be opened after half an hour. Then EVMs and the postal ballot will be counted simultaneously. The ECI has deployed counting observers besides general observers to monitor the entire counting process in the state. A total of 16 counting centres have been set up.

Three layer security measures have been put in place in and around the counting centres. EVMs are being kept under CCTV surveillance. Tomorrow strong room will be opened and EVMs will be taken to the counting centre in presence of contesting candidates, returning officers, and observers and the entire process will be done under CCTV coverage. The votes will be counted in different allotted numbers of tables according to the assembly constituency wise segments.

Meanwhile, re-polls at four polling booths are on amidst tight security. Re-polls will continue till 4 pm.

In Meghalaya, all arrangements have been made for the counting of votes tomorrow. The counting will be held at 13 counting centre across 12 districts and also at one subdivision in the state.

Elaborate three-tier security arrangements have been made for the counting at all counting centres. 22 companies of Armed Security Forces have been deployed for the same. Election authorities have informed that 10 tables have been arranged for each found of counting votes.

 Postal ballots will be counted first and initial trends will be known in the first two-three hours time. It may be known that 85.25 per cent of the over 21 lakh 40 thousand voters have cast their vote last Monday.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma of NPP has been seeking re-election from South Tura while Former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma of Trinamool Congress is seeking election from two constituencies,  Songsak and Tikrikilla. Meghalaya BJP president Ernest Mawrie contested from West Shillong while another BJP senior leader in the fray from South Shillong among other prominent contestants.

In Tripura, the counting of votes will be held tomorrow in 21 centres meant for 60 Assembly constituencies. Three-tier security measures have been provided across centres in the state.

The Election Commission has also appointed 60 Observers to oversee counting and routinely report it. State’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Kiran Gitte informed that the counting process will commence at 8 am tomorrow. The postal ballots will be counted first. A total of 259 candidates, including 58 independents and seven others from unrecognised parties are in the fray.

Most Recent