BJP announces candidates for Tripura bye-polls

At a time when the opposition CPI-M, Congress and the TIPRA Motha party is approaching towards the trending ‘alliance strategy’, the ruling Bharatiya Jana Party (BJP) on Tuesday last declared the party candidates for the upcoming bye-elections to the two Tripura constituencies of Dhanpur and Boxanagar.

In a press release late Tuesday night, BJP national general secretary and office in-charge Arun Singh informed that the party’s central election committee has approved Tafajjal Hossain as its candidate for Boxanagar Assembly constituency and Bindu Debnath from Dhanpur Assembly seat.

The bye-elections are scheduled to be held on September 5 next, while the last day of the submission of nomination papers is on August 17 next.

Earlier, on August 13 last the Left Front had declared the party’s candidate lists. The party fielded Kaushik Chanda to contest from Dhanpur constituency, while Mizan Hussain will contest from Boxanagar assembly constituency. 

Most Recent