1,89,032 voters to decide fate of 22 candidates in fray for Tripura by-polls
By Our Correspondent, 22/06/2022, Agartala

As many as 1,89,032 voters would decide the fate of a total of 22 candidates in fray for the by-polls to four assembly constituencies of 6- Agartala, 8- Town Bordowali, 46- Surma and 57- Jubarajnagar on Thursday.

The Chief Electoral Officer – Kiran Gitte on Wednesday informed that the election commission has taken up all measures for peaceful voting in all the polling booths.

Addressing a press conference on Wednesday the CEO said that voting will commence from 7 am and will continue till 5 pm on June 23.

A total of 673 service voters have cast their votes through Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and apart from that, a total of 841 votes have been cast through postal ballot. In addition to this 1107 voters of above 80 years of age and 184 Divyangan voters have cast their votes for the first time in the category of Absentee voter, the CEO said, adding that a total 95% votes have been caste through postal ballot.

The Chief Election officer also said, there are total 221 voting centres in four Assembly constituencies for the Bye-elections. Among these voting centres, 6-Agartala and 8-Town Bardowali Assembly Constituencies have two voting centres each and 46-Surma (SC) and 57-Jubarajnagar Assembly Constituency have one women managed voting centre each.

He informed that electricity, internet service, drinking water and ramp for Divyangjans have been arranged in each of the voting centres. Apart from that, in case of rainfall, waiting shed has been arranged for voters in different voting centres, he told reporters on Wednesday. 

In addition to the Section 144 imposed already in four Assembly Constituencies to ensure peaceful voting process, arrangement of webcasting have been made accordingly and for this all the necessary equipment have been installed.

The Chief Election Officer in the press conference informed that police personnel and central para military forces have been deployed for peaceful conduction of Bye-election. Among them, 10 companies have been deployed for two constituencies in Agartala and more 10 companies of central para military forces have been deployed for Surma and Jubarajnagar assembly constituencies. Apart from that, 5 companies of TSR will also stay deployed for peaceful voting. It is to be noted that, out of 221 voting centres, 10 have been informed to be very sensitive, 59 have been informed to be sensitive, 4 have been informed to be risk full and 148 centres have been informed to be in normal condition by the police.

The Chief Election Officer informed that, about 100% of voters of the state have been provided with their voter identity cards. More 40 thousand new voter identity cards and 30 thousand corrected voter identity cards have been distributed among the voters of the state in the month of January this year.