6 banned militant group calls for total ban on I’day celebrations in NE region
By Our Correspondent, 13/08/2020, Guwahati

Just ahead of the 74th Independence day celebrations across India, six insurgent outfits of Northeast under the banner of People’s Democratic Council of Karbi-Longri (PDCK) have announced to boycott the celebrations by announcing a total shutdown for 11 hours in the region.
A press communiqué issued by the PDCK and undersigned by the chief of 6 rebel group stated,

“We, the undersigned representatives of our respective revolutionary organizations, declare to ban India’s Independence Day celebrations.” “In order to actualize the ban, we call for total shut-down of the entire region for 11 hours, that is, from 6 AM to 5 PM of the day, the 15th August, 2020. We call upon all peoples of this occupied region to take responsibility to make this ban a success,” press communiqué stated.

The six banned groups which made the joint statement include Hynniewtrep National Council (HNLC) based in Meghalaya, Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL) from Manipur, Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP) from Manipur, Kamtapur Liberation Organization (KLO) based in Assam and parts of West Bengal, People’s Democratic Council of Karbi Longri (PDCK) based in Assam and National Liberation Front of Twipra (NLFT), a banned insurgent group from Tripura.